Valeria Kotova

Senior Associate

- valeria.kotova@birchlegal.ru

Practice areas

About

Valeria focuses on providing comprehensive legal support in transactions involving the acquisition and sale of businesses and venture capital investments and has extensive experience with companies operating in financial and IT sectors of economy.

Valeria advises Russian and foreign companies on general corporate and corporate governance matters. She is experienced in the corporate maintenance of cross-border groups of companies, including in the matters of incorporation, governance and restructuring in different jurisdictions (for instance, Cyprus, BVI, England, Monaco, Luxembourg, UAE, and the Cayman Islands).

Valeria has also experience with clients under foreign economic sanctions, including advising on the application of sanctions and countersanctions.

Experience

  • providing legal support in an investment round for leading fintech-platform Rapyd (Israel), structuring the transaction via the Delaware segregated portfolio company, as well as negotiating and drafting transaction documentation

  • providing legal support in a venture transaction of MTS StartUp Hub: cash-in investment in a Russian fintech startup, CoinKeeper, structuring the transaction, negotiating and drafting of transaction documentation, including the shareholders agreement

  • providing legal support in a transaction of a direct acquisition of shares in an English fintech-platform and participation in the next investment round via convertible instrument (simple agreement for future equity)

  • providing legal support in a sale of equity-position in an American company (online-pharmacy) as well as drafting the transaction documentation

  • providing legal support and advice to a leading Russian financial group on corporate restructuring matters, including advising on matters of companies’ redomiciliation from Cyprus to Dubai International Financial Centre

  • conducting legal due diligence of a target asset to major oil company

Valeria’s experience also includes her projects before joining BIRCH LEGAL.

Education

2018National Research University Higher School of Economics, Master’s Degree in Law (with honors)
2016Lomonosov Moscow State University, Bachelor’s Degree in Law (with honors)

Languages

  • English
  • Russian

Career

2022–pres.Senior Associate / Associate, BIRCH LEGAL
2021–2022Senior Associate, BCS Financial Group
2020–2021Senior Associate, MTS PJSC
2017–2020Associate, Legal Intelligence Group Law Firm

Валерия Котова

Юрист

- valeria.kotova@birchlegal.ru

Специализация

Валерия специализируется на комплексном юридическом сопровождении сделок купли-продажи бизнеса и венчурного инвестирования, имеет значительный опыт работы с компаниями из финансового и технологичного секторов экономики.

Валерия консультирует в области корпоративного права и управления российскими и иностранными компании, обладает опытом корпоративного сопровождения деятельности трансграничных групп компаний, включая вопросы создания, управления и реструктуризации в различных юрисдикциях (например, Кипр, БВО, Англия, Монако, Люксембург, ОАЭ, Каймановы Острова).

Также Валерия имеет опыт работы с клиентами, находящимися в санкционных списках иностранных государств, консультирования по некоторым вопросам применения санкций и контрсанкций.

Опыт

  • юридическое сопровождение инвестиционного раунда в ведущую финтех-платформу Rapyd (Израиль), структурирование сделки через дэлаверскую сегрегированную ячейку, согласование и подготовка сделочной документации

  • юридическое сопровождение венчурной сделки MTS StartUp Hub: cash-in инвестиция в российский финтех-стартап CoinKeeper, структурирование сделки, согласование и подготовка сделочной документации, включая корпоративный договор

  • юридическое сопровождение сделки по прямому приобретению акций в английской финтех-платформе, а также участию в следующем инвестиционном раунде через конвертируемый инструмент (simple agreement for future equity)

  • юридическое сопровождение сделки по продаже позиции в американской компании (онлайн-аптека), разработка сделочной документации

  • юридическое сопровождение и консультирование по вопросам корпоративной реструктуризации ведущей российской финансовой группы компаний, включая вопросы редомициляции компаний с Кипра в Международный финансовый центр Дубая

  • проведение due diligence целевого актива для крупной нефтяной компании

Проекты Валерии включают ее опыт и до присоединения к BIRCH LEGAL.

Образование

2018Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики», степень магистра по юриспруденции (с отличием)
2016Московский государственный университет им. М.В. Ломоносова, степень бакалавра по юриспруденции (с отличием)

Языки

  • Английский
  • Русский

Карьера

2022–н.в.Юрист, BIRCH LEGAL
2021–2022Ведущий юрист, Финансовая группа БКС
2020–2021Старший юрист, ПАО «МТС»
2017–2020Юрист, юридическая фирма Legal Intelligence Group